top of page
  • Writer's pictureSonyaPB

In the middle.

Updated: Aug 4, 2019

I have not seen her in years, we used to be best friends once, we were very little when I first saw her. Black hair, green eyes, and a golden skin that it's impossible to ignore. She constantly had a sad look on the face, it made me wonder what she was thinking. We grew up apart of course, our differences started to be very much noticeable after sometime and for a few years I forgot about her, all about her, I did not recall that tiny little smile she made when she was happy for a few seconds, or the glow in her eyes when we talked about things we liked, I did not remembered, until today. 


We were there again, in the same place we said goodbye, only with different motives:


Me: I never thought I would see you again. 


Her: Why not?


Me: Well, it's been, -Slight Cough-, it's been a few years. 


Her: Did you think that we would never meet again?


Me: I knew that I was going to see you at some point in my life. 


Her: And why is that? ( Slight accent)...

 

Me: Don't be silly, - I paused for a moment to look at those eyes again - Aren't you tired of being there?


Her: Of course I am. that's why I'm here.


Me: Why have you came without invitation? 


Her: I'm sorry, I could not wait any longer.


Me: I'm surprised that you have been able to stay in the darkness and loneliness for so long.


Her: I'm tired too, - Then she looked at me with demand - I came to you for a change. 


Me: (Laughs)... And HOW can I help you with that? 


Her: In the whole world you are the only person who gets me, inside out you know my fears, dreams, or at least you used to. I'm tired, tired of the four walls that I have born with, the walls that I'm used to be around, the walls that have now turned real, but that I also like and I don't want to give up. 


Me: I cannot help you. I cannot help someone who does not want to choose sides, you either leave or you stay! - Pauses - What does it feel to be so... - Looking in my mind some words to say - far away? 


Her: It feels like dreaming sometimes, it feels different every time. I like my walls, they make me happy, they make me feel secure. I feel like I don't want to leave...


Me: So why... - She interrupted me - 


Her: But,  I cannot be there any longer, I cannot hear the people talking anymore, I cannot feel properly, I'm always so bored and lonely but I just can't give up. - She got closer to me and strongly stated ...


I do not want to choose, I do not want to choose between day or night, life or death, sky or earth, Sun or moon, good or bad, I want to be in THE MIDDLE, in the middle of the chaos like the horizon looks on earth, like rain falling from the sky but yet not closed enough to touch the ground, like an airplane flying across the sky, like this line in front of us. I want you to help me be, in the middle, not perfect not too flawed... just balanced. 


Me: - I was too mesmerized by her words but I didn't want her to know - I can't, I'm not balanced myself. - I said indifferent. 


Her: Indeed you are not, that's why I came to help you too. You are so bright, so perfect, so beautiful, you always choose a side, you are the sky, you are the day, you  are the sun, you are good, you are life, you are perfect and you know you can't survive like that. - She got even closer almost like whispering  and said. - ''let's change together''. 


I knew I needed her, she was all I was missing in these past few years, that part of me that I was afraid to embrace and take care over me from time to time, and I just knew even before we met that day we needed to make peace with each other and love each other like we were going to die tomorrow. 


Then I looked in the mirror and I said, to myself: '' I'm her, she is me. I'm the sun, I'm the moon, I'm the sky, I'm the earth, I'm the day, I'm the night, I'm the good and I'm the bad, I'm the middle, I'm balanced, I have to love her as I am. 


Thanks  to Galis evangelista to check the grammar for me in this entry! ♥ 

0 comments
bottom of page